Far from the Madding Crowd?

This is one of those “here’s what I’m doing” posts. Here goes:

I finished my summer internship at Vestas and said goodbye to basically everybody in Houston I know. At least, I tried. Which, come to think of it, was a heck of a lot of people and inspired all sorts of emotions that I really don’t want to analyse right now because I want to be braindead and withdrawn for a few days, I think. I don’t want to think about that either. It wasn’t really goodbye forever, but if and when I do go back it won’t be the same. But I am extremely grateful for the amazing friendships that I have in Houston and at Rice, and really hope I won’t lose touch.

I got all my junk packed and was putting it into my car when I and one of my roommates came to the same conclusion: “This is not going to fit” and “I have too much stuff”. Yeah. I drove half of it home on Monday and came back for the rest on Tuesday. So that was intense and probably why I’m so dead today.

There was a Chick-fil-a opening that I wanted to take advantage of, but I got there at seven this morning, only to find out that over a hundred people were already there by six. I should have gotten up way earlier. Oh, well. I’ll get free food some other time.

I’m home for three weeks until my family roadtrips with me up to … grad school. I feel old. And creepy. At the same time, people. I thought when people felt like this, it qualified them to be grad students, but now I may have to revise the thought: maybe being a grad student makes you feel old and creepy.

That’s about it, really. Chill out at home, try to figure out what I need to do for school, see some old friends, finish some projects … and repack. Because I have waaaaay too much stuff. I’m pretty sure I don’t know what half of it is, and therefore won’t miss it.

And if I haven’t mentioned it before, Psalm 18 is a really good one.

Leave a Reply

