capitulation = rand(1,7)

Seven random things you may or may not know about me (I was tagged by Melda on this one and am using it as an excuse to post):

1. I am in the middle of writing my “Personal Statement” for grad school apps. Loads of fun? Heh. I think not. In spite of not wanting to do it and procrastinating, I have been slowly chipping away at it. My problem is that I edit as I write – I just need to spill my guts and revise later. So I’ve been doing a lot of freewriting on paper, with the intention of editing as I type it in. At least, that’s what the plan is. (Yes, there must be a Plan.) Stanford wants seven hundred characters on how I would contribute to the diversity of the entering grad class. Why do they care? They have tons of international applicants; they care if I can do the work, do it well, and bring money.

2. I love Christmas music. However, I refuse to bring up my Christmas playlists until after Thanksgiving.

3. Who I actually wanted to win the 2008 U.S. presidential race: www.tighroslin.com

4. I’ve been playing improv violin with the band at church for about a month now. This week the pastor requested a violin solo on Chris Tomlin’s “Jesus, Messiah”, which I hadn’t heard before. It wasn’t until I practiced it on Saturday that I realized that the song has only four notes – well, five if you want to get picky. Pretty much any melodic combination works with the chords, but the G sharp has to be played selectively.

5. One of my roommates found a kitten! Its name is officially Lol. Pictures on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2055533&l=9def4&id=3003797

6. My senior design team is working on modeling and evaluating wind turbine blade designs. I’ve been working a lot in SolidWorks over the past few weeks, drawing a “standard” wind turbine blade and trying to get it to mesh in an acceptable format, so that we can run CFD analyses on it. Grrr formating.

7. I once heard one teenaged girl correcting another about red hair: apparently it is absolutely not physically possible for a person to have red hair and brown eyes; the eyes can only be either green or blue. I felt a sudden urge to go up to them and stare at the one girl for about two minutes. Woot for being physically impossible. Heheh.

I tag:
E
Andi
Julia
Geeta
MattDunn
Tiffy
Gina

Quote of the day: “Ever hear the sound of squirrels in a drying machine? It’s horrible … that’s what cavitation sounds like.” -Dr. A. Meade, discussing cavitation in class

Leave a Reply

