Tagup

I don’t know why I’m posting.

Well, yes, I do. I’m posting to keep myself from getting sucked into the black hole that is Facebook. Or getting into a several-hours-long IM conversation. What I need to do is spew/vent/rant whatever’s on my mind, iron something to wear tomorrow, go get sweaty, shower, and then crash. So I can have yet another stab at this weird thing called “getting up on time”. I admit I like to push it. And I admit that I’m slightly disappointed that I can’t fool myself into thinking that the time is earlier than it actually is. (For the past few years I’ve set my watch a few minutes fast, hoping that when I wake up and see it, I’ll be too incapacitated to subtract. It very rarely works.)

I don’t feel like doing anything right now because I spent four or five hours this afternoon immobile on the couch with a book (which, by the way, is trifling. You should see me over spring recess).

This past week has included a little frisbee, a little laser tag, a lot of work, and some crawling/walking/sliding around on roofs. Oh, and we got to watch Apollo 13. In historic Mission Control. Which is really, amazingly cool, because you get to sit there and see the MC scenes in the movie, and mentally drop yourself right into the picture, sitting on the floor with your back against the consoles of the infamous Trench.

I’ve been narrowing down my grad school list. And doing GRE practice stuff. I really don’t understand why the math section is all Pre-Calc. Why don’t they just take our SAT scores? My problem with math is not the math itself; it’s doing idiot things like copying the wrong numbers, so the practice is to weed my idiocy out of the equation.

School starts in six weeks. I have mixed feelings about that. But by the time we start I’ll probably be stark raving restless and ready for a change, and my room is going to be sweetness incarnate. Oh, and I still want to go camping at some point.

Random quote of the day:

“… any man who can hitch the length and breadth of the galaxy, rough it, slum it, struggle against terrible odds, win through, and still know where his towel is, is clearly a man to be reckoned with.” – Douglas Adams, Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

Leave a Reply

