Fragments

I don’t have anything specific in mind for this post; just a random bunch of thoughts that aren’t really related – colored pebbles scattered on the sand, waiting for a ray of light to pick one out for the passerby … yeah, so I’m slightly incoherent right now.

Today was pretty sweet. I got to play around in the vehicle mock-up, just for the heck of it, and run a simulator through station docking. That’s why I’m an engineer – so I can play with expensive toys (as in, multi-million dollar toys) and get paid for it.

They’ve told us to treat the internship as a three-month-long interview. I don’t think I’ve made a complete idiot of myself yet. (I still have ten weeks to do that, though.)

I like my job. I don’t like ironing my clothes. And I would appreciate some closet space. Cooking is more fun when somebody else is helping/slaving with you.

Why is it so much harder to pray for somebody else than it is to pray for yourself? Is it because of our inherent selfishness? Is it because, living them, we understand our own problems so much better, and find it easier to detail to God what exactly we want done about them? Is it because we’re just so much more involved with our own lives? Even when I remember to pray for others, I find myself forgetting what exactly they need prayer for. I have a list taped up beside my bed, because if these requests are not shoved in my face every morning and evening, I’ll become so wrapped up in myself that I’ll forget. I pray a lot – just usually about my life and my relationship with God. I’m not proud of this.
I was going over 2 Corinthians 10:4-5 today (odd, really, as I’m reading in Deuteronomy right now) and realized that “take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ” does not mean directly thinking about Him every single second. It does mean, I think, that all our thoughts should be obedient to His commands such as loving our neighbor and accomplishing our work as unto Him. I think, before, I hadn’t really thought about this verse, and just accepted that we should be thinking about Him and His will all the time. But though He truly remains at the center of it all, we are to think about things in such a way as to align with His commands, not just exclusively, explicitly about Him (because we wouldn’t be able to get anything done, I think; we’d be scholars in ivory towers). Now, if only putting it into practice was as easy as theorizing about it.

I apologize if any of this has rambled/been incoherent. I am going to sleep at some point. I’ll leave you with another quote:

“We have your satellite if you want it back send 20 billion in Martian money. No funny business or you will never see it again.”

— Reportedly on a wall in a hall at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Lab, California, after losing contact with the Mars Polar Lander.

Leave a Reply

