Firebird

Congratulations is definitely in order to NASA, JPL, and University of Arizona for Sunday’s powered touchdown. And, from my perspective, the sweet-action solar panels unfurling correctly was probably the best part. Oh, and the pictures. While it still remains to be seen if the landing thrusters fried/significantly disturbed the soil underneath, the teams behind the little-bird-that-could have done a heck of a job.

Links to both the lander and STS-124 (blasting out on Saturday) homes are on the right. And I gotta say that NASA PR’s Harry Potteresque 124 crew poster is a thing of beauty.

Summer CRU kicked off this week, and I am definitely looking forward to some ultimate, hopefully some camping, and a lot of hanging out. Yay summer. I also had a great time in FW this past Saturday! It was really awesome seeing you California and ex-Cali folks. Pictures going up on Facebook shortly, along with a peek at my (???) business card. I honestly don’t know what I’m supposed to do with them. Maybe I should resurrect some old grade-school talent and make card houses again.

That’s all for now, folks. I’ll leave you with this interesting set of similes:

“And I think that [imaging the descending Phoenix from the MRO] is a truly impressive feat. Not so much planetary ping-pong as hitting a hole-in-one on a par 5, then shooting the ball in mid-air over the green with a crossbow. Sometimes it’s okay to just think ‘wow!'” – Russ Swan

Leave a Reply

