Optimizing

I guess I’ll drop a few lines, just to prove that I’m still operational. I mean, I don’t really have anything better to do. Except for the Heat Transfer and Vibrations sets, the quiz prep, and the internship applications … yeah. Come to think of it, I have grossly overcommitted my weekend.

I think I’ve officially transitioned back to my Rice life again. (I know that statement will come back to bite me.) It was kind of hard being dumped back into the middle of my roles at Wiess and CRU and getting back into music and biking and whatever else I do – oh, and classes – but things are mostly returned to their usual state of so-I-barely-have-a-handle-on-this-but-it’s-okay, which is the state just preceding chaos.

It’s been cool meeting freshmen, but slightly awkward since they’ve all integrated into their little places already. It was easier last year. I’ve also realized that, on first introduction, I can either remember the name or the major, but rarely both at once. It takes a few more times before I can get name, college, and major all filed away.

I am absolutely thrilled that this year we have enough Wiessmen (term is gender-neutral) to do really decent ubangees at campus-wide Christian events.

The Women’s Retreat was thoroughly awesome. Basically sugar-boosted estrogen through the roof, God, and sleep being decidedly optional.

Hmmm… I should really go to bed. One last comment: On thinking about it (and to be truthful I try to avoid thinking about it, which may or may not be good), marriage seems to be an optimization problem rather than one with a single solution. (I may or may not elaborate on this in a future post.) This postulate scares the bejeebers out of me, since optimization problems are usually long, painful, and involve large amounts of MATLAB code that invariably screams and dies.

Favorite event of the week: James D. falling asleep in Heat Transfer (particularly Bayazitoglu’s reaction).

Random quote of the day: “Computer system analysis is like child-rearing; you can do grievous damage, but you cannot ensure success.” – Tom DeMarco

4 thoughts on “Optimizing

  1. my prayer partner gave me tips on how to remember people’s names. don’t ask me, cuz i forgot.
    LOL!!

  2. “marriage seems to be an optimization problem rather than one with a single solution. (I may or may not elaborate on this in a future post.) This postulate scares the bejeebers out of me, since optimization problems are usually long, painful, and involve large amounts of MATLAB code that invariably screams and dies.”

    You are such a geek. That is hopelessly funny. I think I may put this in my quotes.

  3. i got lost after after the word “optimization” and i don’t think there are 3 i’s in it. and anyway, it is funny!
    lol!

Leave a Reply

