Petra in (Some) Pictures

I took over three hundred photos and videos in and around Petra – I’m not sure how many of them are worth looking at, but I’ve picked a sample.

I went down with a few other folks on Friday morning to Eilat, which is the southernmost city in Israel. If you go any further south, you get into the Red Sea, so no cities there. It’s a six or seven hour ride from Tel Aviv, stopping over at Be’er Sheva and continuing down the Arava valley on the east side of the Negev.


The airport in Eilat. Some people prefer to skip the bus ride and take the domestic forty-five minute flight instead.


A view of Aqaba, Jordan, from Eilat’s waterfront.


Egypt (the Sinai) from Eilat.

I went to a service that evening at a Christian hostel in Eilat that also works with the refugees from Darfour, especially with the kids. I really wished I’d brought my camera – it was pretty awesome. They had to have four translators going: Spanish for the believers from Cuba, Chinese for the migrant workers, Arabic for the Sudanese, and Russian for more immigrants. We had a meal, and a rather impromptu praise session with some of the volunteers there, and randomly hung out around the waterfront in the wee hours, discussing what made Texas so much better than the lesser states.


Saturday morning we – the group from the university – got into line at the border crossing terminal


Looking back at Israel while walking through the no-man’s-land between Israel and Jordan. And yes, we must stop and take pictures.


Welcome to the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan.


I don’t know why, or even how, I took this picture, but I did, standing in line to get my passport back from the black hole that is Jordanian entry customs. One thing I did learn: a red and white kaffiyah (head cloth) is Jordanian and other Arabic states as well, I think. A black and white on is Palestinian.


Passing through Aqaba – “Aqaba … by land.” “Truly you’re mad!”


The cab driver’s phone. The Arabic on it looks so much more enigmatic than the Hebrew on mine – possibly because I don’t know how to read it.


Some of the town of Petra. I think the cab drivers had a deal with one of the restaurants there, because they took us to a place for lunch before we continued on to the national park.


They filmed ‘Temple of Doom’ here, I believe.


Walking in is interesting but not inspiring. They have a lot of horses and carts for hire.


The rocks are really interesting.


See what I mean? The colors change with the light.


And just when the rocks are getting really good…



The Temple of Doom – actually a Nabaetaen treasury. Petra is one of the new wonders of the ancient world.


I think this camel had enough of sight-seeing.


An upward view on the Treasury porch. I love all the detailing on the doors and columns


Further on: tombs


Amphitheatres seem to be staples of ruins


One of the Jordanian kids that randomly go around selling things.


I don’t know what this was, but it was pretty cool.


Going up the stairs from the Urn Tomb, so named because they found – guess what – urns there.


I want a home made out of rock like this.


Jordanian kids, playing while their parents sell souveniers and camel rides.


Part of the temple complex


More of the temple complex


Waiting for business


On the way back


Sunset over the desert

More sunset

So basically Petra was pretty awesome. I didn’t really know what I was getting into while we were walking down to the city; seeing the treasury was completely unexpected. It’s quite a contrast.

I have nothing brilliant to say right now, so I’ll just let you look at the pictures again. I did get housing worked out though, thank God. Here’s to hoping you get into the Christmas spirit! It’s kind of non-existent here.

One thought on “Petra in (Some) Pictures

  1. the cab driver let you take pics of his phone? cool…

    so you want a rock house for chirstmas… that can be arranged. How does six by two by two sound *evil laugh*? 😛

    cool pictures. real cool. lucky.

Leave a Reply

