Woot, I’m late for class

I know I promised to post about Krav Maga, but I don’t have very much time before class, and a piece on that subject would be slightly involved. So… if you want my random thoughts on the day so far, read on. If you’re looking for something profound, don’t waste your time.

I walked to the Neve Avivim quarter after my Hebrew midterm this morning, because the pharmacy is there, and I need to to get some salisomethingorother acid (I know the name, I really do – it’s just not coming to me right now) because apparently I have a viral wart on my finger, which stinks. It’s not painful or contagious or anything, but it’s the little things that drive me crazy.

It was interesting just walking through this suburb of Tel Aviv. I guess I never realized just how much more family-oriented this society is than that of the States. It’s probably because of the huge emphasis Judaism places on having a family – you’re not worth much as a person if you don’t have kids – and even though seventy percent (I think, don’t quote me) of the population is secular, the cultural values still carry over.

Continue reading