“Words, Words, Words …”

This is just a quick post of some random things that have been running through my mind.

First of all, I must rave about Mozilla Thunderbird. Outlook was becoming extremely klunky and lately has been refusing to load anything new. I also have been too lazy to update the calendar, so it still gives me alerts about things like “Chemistry recitation tomorrow” and “Mech 211 problem set due Monday”. Thunderbird, on the other hand, is extremely elegant, and I’m thrilled with the RSS Feed function. I can run all my news feeds and tech and friends’ blogs through there … I am mucho happy.

The second topic that’s been occupying me is the lack of science fiction and fantasy novels. I’m forced to resort to the literature classics in the University library, not that that’s a bad thing. I’m definitely going to come out of here a little more well-read. So if you have any favorites from AP Lit and Comp, or any English Literature class, feel free to recommend them!

By the way, Dad, thanks for uploading those E-Books onto my computer way back when. I may not have any recent science fiction, but I do have 20+ Jules Verne novels to choose from. The great thing about Jules Verne is that the people who save the day are always engineers – for example, Cyrus Harding, who is thoroughly awesome. What else can you say about a character who blows out the side of a mountain using homemade nitroglycerin?

Speaking of Jules Verne, that’s the name chosen for the ESA’s first ATV (Automated Transfer Vehicle) for the International Space Station, and is currently due to launch in January 2008. And now I’m rambling, so all I can do now is to promise that I’ll post more pictures soon.

Random quote inspired by content: “Now when an American has an idea, he directly seeks a second American to share it. If there be three, they elect a president and two secretaries. Given four, they name a keeper of records, and the office is ready for work; five, they convene a general meeting, and the club is fully constituted.” -Jules Verne, From the Earth to the Moon

Leave a Reply

