A Measure of Grace

Has anyone seen my calculator? I was looking for it this morning and discovered its absence. I might have left it in the lab … but in case I didn’t and you’ve seen it, could you give me a call/email/other method of communication which is convenient in this modern age?

I suppose, while I’m at it, I should provide an update for those of you who could not have seen my calculator due to the distance involved.

 So I’m sitting here in my apartment, on this Saturday morning, with my laptop and the rain and the breeze coming through the open French doors. (I love being able to say that. French doors are awesome. If you don’t have some, you should get some.) And I’m wearing a dress, just because I can. (You should get a dress, too.)

And I’m realizing, not for the first time: Life is wonderful. God is wonderful. I seriously doubt that life would be wonderful if God were not. Let’s take it by the numbers, shall we? In these past two weeks, I had:

  • 10 consecutive days in which I was working almost non-stop
  • 2 midterm tests
  • 1 paper
  • 1 essay
  • 2 soccer games
  • 1 ultimate game
  • 10 pages of a scholarship application to research and write
  • 5 problem sets
  • 2 lab reports
  • 20 people over for dinner
  • the usual Bible study and church commitments
  • planning and participation for the Engineering Competition
  • classes and labs
  • 32 hours of sleep in that period (I did make sure to get 8 hours before each test)

I’m probably forgetting something. Fortunately I didn’t have to make dinner for twenty people; the story is that Cru decided to have a potluck. At my apartment. And when I said, “Sure, no problem,” I didn’t realize I had all this work stacked up. But it was the grace of God that left I and my roommate with enough leftovers in our refrigerator for a week, in which we both didn’t really have time to cook.

What was remarkable was that, in the midst of all this, I only felt stressed about my workload once or twice – mainly in the middle of all-nighters. God gave me such amazing peace. Usually, when I stress, I start finding a lot of white hair (yeah, here I am trying to quantify stress. Dude, it’s load over area. I’m not very large). Where was I? White hair. I haven’t found any yet!

The grace of God seems to come into this a lot. I came out of these ten days not dead. Not even half-dead. Yeah, life is good.

Ahem. I’d like to take this time to thank all of you who delivered exquisitely-timed hugs, offers of couches, words of encouragement, food, chocolate, prayers, and general moral support. I’d also like to apologize for the times when I was pretty much a stubborn jerk.

I really need to study now – just this one last test, and then Spring Break and New Orleans! I’m getting pumped. We actually get showers and beds this time.

A final thought: “But by the grace of God I am what I am, and his grace to me was not without effect.” – 1 Corinthians 15:1

 Random quote of the day: “This pizza is having catastrophic failure all over my face.” – Julia

Leave a Reply

